Home Violent Crimes Assault and Battery

Assault and Battery Defense Attorneys in Breckenridge

Defending Against Breckenridge Assault and Battery Charges

Assault and battery are often used interchangeably, but they are two different offenses. The offenses include physical violence against an individual. The difference is that battery requires the violence to result in an injury, while assault is the threat of violence. Most of the time during an arrest, the police will charge you with both offenses.

If you have been charged with assault and battery in Summit County, you need a top-rated attorney on your side. The Breckenridge criminal defense attorneys at Whitaker & Penix, LLC have consistently been rated as some of the best legal minds in Colorado and have secured not guilty verdicts for various charges. Our firm will use our years of experience and skill to develop a defense strategy for your unique case. Contact us today at (970) 368-0602.

Degrees of Assault and Battery in Colorado

Assault and battery in Colorado are classified as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the severity of the offense. The Degrees in assault and battery in Colorado are as follows:

  • First Degree Assault: A person commits first degree assault by knowingly or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person with a deadly weapon
  • Second Degree Assault: Intentional causing injury without a deadly weapon
  • Third Degree Assault: A person commits class 3 assault by negligently causing injury with a deadly weapon

Punishments For Assault and Battery Crimes in Colorado

After the court has categorized the assault, it is time to assign punishment to the crime. Here are a few examples of some punishments that can be applied to these crimes:

  • First Degree Assault. A first degree class 3 felony is the most serious type of felony offense in Colorado. If convicted of a first degree class 3 felony, a person faces a possible sentence of up to 10-32 years in prison. Some of the most serious felonies that can be classified as a first degree class 3 felony include murder, manslaughter, and sexual assault. Fines may be charged from $3,000-$750,000.
  • Second Degree Assault. This crime can be hold up to 5-16 years in prison and a fine of $2,000-$5,000. The specific punishment will depend on the facts and circumstances of the case, as well as the criminal history of the offender.
  • Third Degree Assault. The punishment for a class 1 misdemeanor in Colorado is up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

Contact a Summit County Violent Crime Lawyer After You’ve Been Accused

After being accused of assault and battery, the first thing you should do is seek legal counsel. An experienced Summit County criminal defense attorney can help you understand the charges against you and craft a defense. If you are innocent, an attorney can also help you clear your name. If you are guilty, an attorney can help you negotiate a plea deal or otherwise minimize the consequences. In either case, it is critical that you have an attorney by your side to protect your rights and interests.

Contact a Breckenridge violent crime defense lawyer at Whitaker & Penix, LLC today to discuss your case. Call (970) 368-0602 for a free consultation.