Home Silverthorne Criminal Defense DUI

Silverthorne Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

Charged with DUI in Silverthorne, CO?

At Whitaker & Penix, LLC, our two attorneys bring extensive experience in DUI defense and at trial to the cases they represent. Attorney Kylie Whitaker has a background serving as a criminal prosecutor and former assistant DA and brings an extensive understanding of the inner workings of the prosecution, the areas of weakness in many DUI cases, and how to craft and present a compelling case at trial, or negotiate to reduce or dismiss charges.

Attorney Ehren Penix has three years serving as a criminal prosecutor, with four years in private practice, with more trial experience than many Silverthorne DUI defense attorneys who haven’t presented a case at trial for years, and rather than defending against charges, may just negotiate the terms of your penalties. You deserve more, and at our firm, we are available 24/7 to assist Silverthorne locals and visitors accused of DUI driving.

Contact us immediately at (970) 368-0602 if you or a loved one, adult or minor, has been accused of drunk driving in Silverthorne.

Penalties for DUI Offenses in Silverthorne, Colorado

Colorado lawmakers have increased the penalties for DUI driving in the state. When accused of drunk or drug intoxicated driving, the repercussions are extremely serious. If convicted of a DUI, you will not only face fines, license suspension and jail time, but your permanent criminal record is easily available in a background check run by a potential employer. You may lose the legal right to operate a vehicle and your professional license may be revoked, leaving you unable to practice your profession. The basic penalties for DUI convictions in the Silverthorne area include:

  • 1st time DUI: The penalties imposed in a first time DUI can include incarceration in jail for jail time from 5 days to 1 year. You may be eligible for a suspended sentence which will include a mandatory alcohol and drug evaluation and requirements to attend alcohol education. If probation is imposed, it can be in force for up to two years. The fines range from $600 to $1,000, along with mandatory community service up to 96 hours, and drivers’ license revocation for up to nine months. When the case involves a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .20 or higher, the penalties imposed are increased, and may include a longer jail sentence or home detention.
  • 2nd DUI: A second DUI conviction within the past five lead to heavier penalties, which often include 10 days to 1 year in jail, home detention, fines up to $1,500, and probation for as long as four years.
  • 3rd DUI: A third DUI conviction brings even more severe penalties, which will involve 60 consecutively served days in jail, and up to 1 year behind bars. The convicted offender could be granted an alternative of work release, along with having their driver’s license revoked for two years.
  • 4th or more DUI: When a person is convicted of DUI a fourth time, the charges are filed as a Class 4 felony, and come with a prison sentence of up to 4 years. The fines are extreme, ranging from $2,000 to $500,000, with mandatory community service up to 120 hours. Driver’s license suspension is for two years. Once restored, the offender will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) to be allowed to operate a vehicle.

Additional Charges in DUI Cases in Silverthorne

In some cases, additional serious charges are filed in a drunk driving case. If another person was injured or killed in an accident, a charge of vehicular homicide may be filed, with penalties up to 12 years in prison, and fines ranging from $3,000 to $750,000. If any child under age 16 was in the vehicle at the time of the arrest, you may be facing charges of child abuse, and in some cases, may lose custody of your own children. A drunk driving accident resulting in serious bodily injury or the death of a child Class 3 felony charges could be filed, with severe consequences.

You Need a Silverthorne DUI Lawyer – Now.

If you are accused of any DUI offense, whether you live in the Silverthorne area or were visiting as a tourist, the risk of losing your license, damaging your reputation, and facing extreme penalties are very real. Immediately after an arrest, contact a Silverthorne DUI defense lawyer, and exercise your right to remain silent. Many DUI charges can be successfully defended, charges could be reduced or dismissed. At Whitaker & Penix, LLC, our Silverthorne criminal defense lawyer has the experience, knowledge of the legal system from both sides, and the trial skills that could be critical to the final outcome.

Contact Whitaker & Penix, LLC today at (970) 368-0602. Available 24/7.