Home Sex Crimes Child Molestation

Breckenridge Child Molestation Defense Attorneys

Were You Charged with Child Molestation?

Our experienced Breckenridge molestation defense lawyers at Whitaker & Penix, LLC have extensive knowledge of the Colorado legal court system. We know the best strategies for getting your charges reduced or dismissed.

Call (970) 368-0602 to learn more today.

Protecting Your Freedom and Your Reputation

Child molestation is a horrible thing to be accused of. Even when the charges are totally unfounded, it can have a devastating effect on your relationships, employment, personal safety, and peace of mind.

If someone has accused you of child molestation, or if you are aware of any rumors that are circulating, it’s crucial to seek advice from a Breckenridge sex crime defense attorney right away. These types of accusations can spread like wildfire, and attorneys know how to actively address the situation before it gets out of hand.

If you don’t have the right people on your side, misunderstandings, false allegations, and malicious rumors can ruin your life. Kylie Whitaker and Ehren Penix are both former prosecutors, so we know all about the tactics that can be used against defendants.

What to Do If You Are Accused of Child Molestation in Breckenridge

False accusation can be made by anyone, including a vindictive former spouse, angry and confused stepchildren, or parents who are simply misinformed or jumping to conclusions.

Even if you haven’t been arrested, never speak with the police without having an attorney present. Police and prosecutors are very aggressive in child abuse cases, and they’re often willing to take extreme measures to secure a conviction.

You don’t want to make any type of contact with your accusers, possible witnesses, or alleged victims. That could be construed as tampering with an investigation. But there are a number of things you can do to assist your Summit County criminal defense lawyer with their investigation. This includes:

  • Don’t talk to anyone about the details of your case.
  • Don’t mention the allegations on social media.
  • Make a list of potential witnesses who can support your case.
  • Avoid your accuser and any alleged victims.
  • Inform your attorney about any underlying motives your accusers may have.
  • Collect evidence that supports your alibi, such as GPS information, emails, text messages, toll bridge receipts, and surveillance video.

Penalties and Long-term Consequences

Criminal prosecution for child molestation can turn your life into a never-ending nightmare. Felony child molestation in Colorado is defined as sexual assault on a child under 15 years old. This includes inappropriate touching of a child’s genitals, buttocks, or breasts.

Several factors can result in greater penalties for child molestation, including enticement of a child through the internet, sexual assault by a person of trust, or threatening to kidnap or inflict severe harm or pain on a victim.

Legal penalties and other consequences after a conviction for felony child molestation may include:

  • Up to 32 years in prison
  • Up to $750,000 in fines
  • Mandatory sex offender registration for life
  • Loss of gun rights
  • Revocation of a professional license
  • Damage to your immigration status
  • Loss of custody and visitation rights

Our team will develop the best strategy to protect your freedom if you have been charged with molesting a child in Summit County. Call Whitaker & Penix, LLC at (970) 368-0602 to schedule a FREE consultation today.