Home Frisco Criminal Defense Drug Crime

Frisco Drug Crime Defense Lawyer

Criminal Defense Against Frisco Drug Crime Charges

Although it has legalized marijuana for personal use, and typically does not imprison first-time offenders for possession of small quantities, Colorado is still tough on drug crimes. A conviction can mean jail or prison time, thousands of dollars in fines, and a criminal record that can impact your future prospects. If you are facing drug crime charges in Frisco, contact a skilled criminal defense attorney right away to improve your chances of a favorable case outcome.

What Is a Drug or Controlled Substance?

A controlled substance is a chemical or drug that is controlled under the law because of its potential for abuse or addiction. Under the federal Controlled Substances Act, drugs are categorized in five different schedules according to their potential for abuse and other factors, as listed by the DEA. Controlled substances in the Schedule I and II categories are considered the most dangerous, whereas Schedule V drugs have a much lower potential for abuse.

  • Examples of Schedule I drugs include heroin, LSD, peyote, Ecstasy, and marijuana.
  • Schedule II drugs include methadone, oxycodone, amphetamines, and methamphetamine.
  • Cough preparations containing up to a certain amount of codeine, such as Robitussin AC® are included in Schedule V.

What Are the Various Types of Drug Crimes You Could Be Charged With?

Charges and penalties for drug crimes in Frisco can depend on several factors, including:

  • Type of drug (the schedule it is listed on)
  • Quantity of the drug
  • Whether it was for personal use or for sale
  • Criminal history of the defendant (any prior offenses or on parole or probation)

Drug crimes in Colorado may fall under any of six separate categories, which include two levels of misdemeanors and four levels of felonies. From least to most serious, those levels, with examples, are:

  • Level two drug misdemeanor: Possessing more than two ounces but less than six ounces of marijuana. The maximum penalty is 12 months in jail and/or a fine of $750.
  • Level one drug misdemeanor: Unlawful possession of controlled substances in Schedule III, IV, or V. This carries up to two years of probation, a possible jail sentence of 180 days, and a fine of up to $1,000.
  • Level four drug felony: Selling up to four grams of a Schedule III or IV controlled substance. Punishable by six months to a year in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $100,000.
  • Level three drug felony: Selling no more than 14 grams of a Schedule I or II drug. Penalties may include two to four years in prison and a fine of $2,000 to $500,000.
  • Level two drug felony: Possession of equipment and materials to manufacture methamphetamine. Punishable by four to eight years in prison and a fine of $3,000 to $750,000.
  • Level one drug felony: Selling more than 225 grams of a Schedule I or II controlled substance. It carries eight to 32 years in prison and fines from $5,000 to $1 million.

What Should You Do to Protect Yourself If You Are Accused of a Drug Crime in Frisco?

If you have been charged with a drug crime, remember you are innocent until proven guilty. Respectfully exercise your right to remain silent and contact an experienced Frisco drug crime attorney as soon as possible. You need strong and immediate representation to protect your future.

At Whitaker & Penix, LLC, we are former prosecutors who use our knowledge to advocate for clients in criminal matters. We are hands-on with every case, provide personalized attention, and communicate your legal options every step of the way. Our Frisco criminal defense lawyers have an in-depth understanding of the local courts and know how to guide clients through the criminal process with professionalism and care. Contact us at (970) 368-0602.