Home Criminal Defense Domestic Violence

Breckenridge Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys

Domestic Violence Charges in Breckenridge, Colorado

A domestic violence allegation is a very serious matter with the potential to severely impact your life. Domestic violence charges can ultimately result in imprisonment or substantial fines, and can negatively impact your relationships, employment opportunities, and reputation.

In Colorado, domestic violence cases are dealt with expediently and the police are given powers to arrest a person immediately if they have probable cause to suspect domestic violence has occurred. The second you are accused of domestic violence in Summit County, it is imperative to call the experienced Breckenridge criminal lawyers at Whitaker & Penix, LLC at (970) 368-0602.

Common Types of Domestic Violence

Domestic violence can come in many forms. Common types of domestic violence include physical assault, sexual assault, emotional or psychological abuse, stalking or harassment, and controlling finances. Domestic violence can also include capturing or harming a victim’s pets or damaging their property.

In Colorado, domestic violence is not an offense in itself, rather, it is considered to be “aggravating” or a “sentencing enhancement,” and is added to an independent criminal charge, increasing the penalties for that charge. To be considered domestic violence, the crime must occur between current or previous “intimate partners,” which includes married and unmarried couples, or parents of the same child, regardless of whether they lived together at any time.

Penalties for Domestic Violence

As a sentencing enhancer, the penalties for domestic violence depend on the underlying charge. Charges such as assault, harassment, false imprisonment and violating a restraining order can lead to imprisonment and/or substantial fines. On a person’s fourth conviction involving domestic violence, this becomes a class 5 felony, carrying 1–3 years in prison and/or a fine of between $1000 to $100,000.

The judge also has a number of powers to require the perpetrator to attend a domestic violence treatment program or counseling and to extend a restraining order or impose a mandatory protection order. If you have a domestic violence charge against your name, this also can impact your ability to own a gun and affect your citizenship status, employment opportunities and parental rights.

What To Do if You Are Accused or Arrested in Breckenridge

In Colorado, a mandatory arrest law applies for domestic violence cases. When a police officer is called to a home on allegations of domestic violence, if they have probable cause to suspect that domestic violence has occurred, the perpetrator will be immediately arrested.

It is therefore crucial to call a Breckenridge criminal attorney as soon as you believe you have been accused of domestic violence. If you are arrested, do not say anything until you have spoken with a defense lawyer. You may be required to spend the night in jail, until the judge sets a bond.

How a Summit County Criminal Defense Lawyer Can Help

Given how quickly domestic violence cases can progress, having a skilled defense attorney on your side is crucial to protecting your rights. A lawyer helps ensure probable cause for your arrest exists, can argue for bond to be set at a lower amount, and will ensure you do not say or do anything that may prejudice your position.

Unfortunately, false allegations are common in this area, and without proper representation, even a false allegation can lead to conviction. Our experienced Summit County defense attorneys at Whitaker & Penix, LLC will challenge the sufficiency of any evidence against you and fight passionately in your defense. If you are convicted or plead guilty, we will argue for a reduced sentence based on mitigating factors in your case.

If you have been arrested or accused of domestic violence in Breckenridge or the surrounding area, call our team today at (970) 368-0602 so we can start defending you.

Additional Domestic Violence Information