Home Criminal Defense Child Abuse

Breckenridge Child Abuse Defense Attorneys

Facing Child Abuse Charges in Breckenridge, Colorado?

Summit County child abuse charges carry severe penalties as well potentially affecting the reputation and relationships of the accused.

If you are being accused of or investigated for child abuse in Breckenridge or the surrounding area, having a skilled criminal defense lawyer on your side to defend you and uphold your rights is crucial. Call Whitaker & Penix, LLC today at (970) 368-0602 so we can begin helping you.

Child Abuse Examples

Child abuse can occur in many forms, with varying levels of severity.

In Colorado, a person commits child abuse if they:

   a) Cause injury to a child’s life or health
   b) Unreasonably allow a child to be placed in a situation that threatens their wellbeing
   c) Engage in a continued pattern of conduct that results in malnourishment, lack of proper medical care, cruel punishment, mistreatment, or the accumulation of injuries that results in either serious injury or death of the child
   d) Are charged with a DUI or DWAI with a child in the car
   e) Perform or allow to be performed female circumcision or genital mutilation
   f) Allow a child to be near the manufacturing of drugs or controlled substances

A person can meet these criteria in many ways, including through physical, sexual, or psychological abuse, as well as by neglect. Neglect can also come in many forms, including through leaving the child unsupervised, exposing the child to dangerous situations, or failing to get them proper medical care.

Mandatory Reporting

In Colorado, certain professionals have an obligation to report any suspicions of child abuse or neglect. A range of professionals are under this obligation, including health care practitioners, teachers, psychologists, vets, pharmacists and peace officers. The full list of mandatory reporters is located in CRS 19-3-304.

Immediately upon learning or having reasonable cause to suspect a child is facing child abuse or neglect, these professionals must file a report with the county department, the local law enforcement agency, or through the child abuse reporting hotline, who will determine the next steps to be taken and perform the necessary investigations.

Penalties for Child Abuse

The penalties upon conviction for child abuse in Breckenridge depend on a range of factors, including the age of the child, whether the child was injured or died as a result of the abuse, whether the perpetrator has past child abuse convictions, and whether the abuse was performed knowingly, recklessly or negligently.

At the extreme end of the spectrum, child abuse resulting in the death of the child is a felony and can carry a potential sentence of up to 24 years imprisonment as well as substantial fines. Where the child suffered no or only minor injuries, this is considered a misdemeanor carrying potential consequences of up to a year in jail and up to $1000 in fines.

Call a Breckenridge Child Abuse Defense Lawyer at Whitaker & Penix, LLC

A skilled Breckenridge defense attorney is crucial if you are being investigated for or facing a charge of child abuse. These allegations can sometimes be ill-informed or unfounded, or may fall into a gray area of whether the behavior meets the requisite standard to constitute child abuse or neglect.

Our child abuse defense attorneys help ensure proper processes are followed in any investigations, can attack the insufficiency of any evidence against you, ensure your rights are upheld, and fight passionately in your defense in the courtroom. If you are found guilty, your lawyer will argue for a reduced sentence based on the mitigating factors in your circumstances.

A child abuse charge carries grave consequences criminally as well as socially. Do not leave your fate up to chance. Call our skilled Summit County criminal lawyers at Whitaker & Penix, LLC today at (970) 368-0602.

Additional Child Abuse Information